Man Booker Prize 2019 – Man Booker Prize

Hello aspirants, so Today we will discuss the Man Booker Prize 2019. Man Booker Prize related topics that ask in the exam. SSC and Banking exam asked question-related to Man booker International prize.

Before getting a start, you must read our previous blog for Nobel Prize Winners.

So let’s deep down to this blog.

The Booker Prize for Fiction was previously known as the Booker Mc Connell prize in 1969-2001.

The Man Booker prize is a literary prize awarded for a novel that is written in the English language and published in the United Kingdom.

The Booker Prizes

Awarded for Best Novel written in The English language, and published in the U.K. and published in the U.K. and Ireland
Ceremony LocationGuildhall, London, England
Presented by Man Group (until 31 May 2019)
Crankstart(now present this award)
First awardedin 1969

The Prize Money for the Man Booker Winner.

The prize money given to the Booker Prize was originally 21000 euros and in 2002 it was raised to 50000 euros.

List Of Some Important Man Booker Prize Winners

P.H. Newby (First Winner)Something to Answer For
(in 1969)
United Kingdom
Bernice RubensThe Elected Member
(in 1970)
United Kingdom
J.G. Farrell
(retrospective award)
(in 1970)
United Kingdom
V.S. NaipaulIn a Free State
United Kingdom, Trinidad and Tobago
Nadine Gordimer
(First Woman Winner)
The Conservationist
South Africa
Salman Rushdie
(British -Indian)
Midnight’s Children
(in 1981)
United Kingdom
Thomas KeneallySchindler’s Ark
(in 1982)
Keri HulmeThe Bone People
(in 1985)
New Zealand
Ben OkriThe Famished Road
(in 1991)
Arundhati Roy
(First Indian)
The God of Small Things
(in 1997)
Kiran DesaiThe Inheritance of Loss
(in 2006)
Aravind AdigaThe White Tiger
(in 2008)

2019 Man Booker Prize Winners

Man Booker Prize 2019
Man Booker Prize 2019
Bernardine Evaristo
Bernardine Evaristo

For- Girl, Woman, Other

She is from the United kingdom.

Margaret Atwood
Margaret Atwood

For- The Testaments

She is from Canada.

Man Booker Prize 2018

Anna Burns
Anna Burns

For- Milkman

She is from the United Kingdom.

Man Booker Prize 2017

George Saunders
George Saunders

For- Lincoln in the Bardo

He is from The United States of America.

Some Special Awards

On the 25th anniversary, a “Booker of Bookers” prize was given in 1993. Three previous judges Malcolm Bradbury, David Holloway, and W. L. Webb met and chose Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children.

In 2006 The Man Booker Prize set up a “Best of Beryl” prize for Beryl Bainbridge, who was nominated 5 times but failed to win once.

The Best of the Booker was awarded in 2008 to mark the celebration of the 40th anniversary. Shortlisted 6 winners was chosen and the decision was left to a public vote and again the winner was Midnight’s Children.

On the 50th anniversary The Golden Man Booker was awarded in 2018. The winner by vote was the English Patient by Ondaatje.

So today, we cover a lot about the Man Booker Prize. Stay in touch with us for more interesting topics which definately asked in all government exams.

Leave a Comment on Man Booker Prize 2019 – Man Booker Prize

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *