Jnanpith Award 2019 & Jnanpith Award

Hello everyone, Today we will go through the Jnanpith Award 2019 & Jnanpith Awards. Before we should start I hope you read our previous blog in which I told you about Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019 and more.

So let’s start.

Jnanpith Award is the prestigious award for Indian literature. This award is given annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith.

This award is only given to Indian writers who write in Indian language include in Eight Schedule to the Constitution of India and also in English.

Some Facts

Jnanpith is not given to posthumously.

Award For Literary Works
Sponsored by Bharatiya Jnanpith
Prize Money11 lakh to 13 lakh (2019) or $19000 (2019)
First Award1965
Recent WinnerAkkitham Achuthan Namboothiri
Total Award59

First Jnanpith Award Winner

G. Sankara Kurup first recipient of Jnanpith award
G. Sankara Kurup

For– Auda kujai (Malayalam)

Awarded in 1965

Second Jnanpith Award Winner

Tara Shankar Bandyopadhyay second recipient of Jananpith Award
Tara Shankar Bandyopadhyay

For– Ganadevata (Bengali)

Awarded in 1966

Some Other Winners and Important Facts

First to get Jnanpith for Kannada, Gujarati, Urdu, and Hindi language
K.V. Putappa winner of Jnanpith award for ramayan darshanam kannada
K.V. Putappa

For– Ramayan Darshanam (1967)

Written in– Kannada

Uma Shankar Joshi winner of jnanpith award
Uma Shankar Joshi

For– Nisheeth (1967)

Written in– Gujarati

Sumitra Nandan Pant first Hindi Jnanpith award winner
Sumitra Nandan Pant

For- Chidambara(1968)

Written in– Hindi

Raghupati Sahay first Urdu winner of Jnanpith Award
Raghupati Sahay “Firaq Gorakhpuri”

For- Gul e Naghma

Written in – Urdu

First Female to get Jnanpith Award

Ashapurna Devi first women to get jnanpith award
Ashapurna Devi

For- Pratham Pratishruti(1976)

Written in – Bengali

Jnanpith Award Winner in 2019

Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri 2019 Jnanpith Award winner
Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri

For-  Irupatham Noottandinte Ithihasam

Written in – Malayalam

2018 Jnanpith Award

First English Writer to win this Award

Amitav Ghosh 2018 jnanpith award winner
Amitav Ghosh

For- Outstanding contribution towards literature.

I hope now you don’t have any doubts or queries related to this topic.

If you are a student or someone preparing for any governmental exams the only way to get success by your persistence, dedication, and honesty with yourself.

Thank you.

Stay tone with us for more interesting topics.

Leave a Comment on Jnanpith Award 2019 & Jnanpith Award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *